Where are you from originally and how long have you lived in Kingwood?
Originally from Los Angeles California. We moved to Kingwood just a little over a year ago.
 
Child(ren) and Age(s)?
T
wo kids, Sterling (3) and Averleigh (2)
One thing people would be surprised to know about you…Most people are surprised to know that my husband and I met in high school. We have been together for 15 years and married for 10 years next month!
 
What is your go-to activity for yourself for pampering or for fun?
For fun I like trying out some of the local restaurants with my husband. Our current favorite is Chimichurris grill!
 
Funniest shortcut/routine for helping you through parenthood?
To be honest, before trying to have/having kids I was never a planner! Unfortunately, my husband and I struggled for many years to get pregnant and had to do fertility and ultimately IVF treatments to get pregnant with both kids! The infertility lifestyle has to be very structured and planned and I feel like that “scheduled” way of life has really helped in our parenting style!
 
Are you involved in a business venture, a local organization, a creative endeavor, or in the
corporate world? Please share!
I have been a hairstylist for 15 years, owned a salon in Orange County California that we just recently sold! So since moving to Texas being a stay at home mom has been so nice! However I needed something to do with my free time, so I started making felt flower crowns for my daughter to wear, well, I started getting crown requests from friends and family and it just kind of evolved into now a little business that allows me to stay home with my babies and do something that I enjoy doing! Averleigh Blue is the name of the business.

 

How has this community been instrumental in getting you to where you are now?
Everyone has been so nice! Having just moved here recently it’s really great when you find people who are so willing to help you!
 
What is the best advice for juggling mommyhood and running a business (or volunteering,
working, etc)?
Personally, I’ve always been an on the go, doing 20 things at once type of person! I always say if it’s something you want to do, do it! If it ends up not working out, at least you tried and now you know!
 
What would you tell the old “You” before you had kids? Enjoy your quiet time!

What is your proudest mommy moment?
I’m most proud when my kids show care and concern for each other and other people. I think it is vital especially these days, to teach them and show them how important loving each other is!


Greatest gift about being a mom? 

Being able to watch my kids grow, being there for their milestones and looking forward to seeing what they’re going to become!

Best mom hack that makes mommin’ easier?
Schedule, schedule, schedule!

What’s your favorite part about what you do?
I get to make pretty things that people enjoy and stay home with my kids!!

What is your favorite thing to do in the HKA area?
We are still relatively new, so we are still exploring! I know this sounds crazy but I really love to go to HEB. We don’t really have a grocery store like that in California and I just enjoy it! lol

Join The Kingwood Moms Network Community

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around The Kingwood TX Moms community with local events, community highlights, and exclusive deals.